Since 1987 North Shore Bank has awarded scholarships to Saugus High School graduates furthering their education. The bank recently announced that this year's recipients are Thea Raftelis and Dorothy-Jean Munafo. These young adults have distinguished themselves through their passionate commitment to education and to their community.

Ranked eighth in her class, Raftelis was Class Secretary, a member of the National Honor Society, and a member of both the varsity field hockey and golf teams. In her spare time she volunteered with the Make a Wish Foundation and the Joey LoRusso Foundation. Thea has been accepted to Endicott College where she will major in Bioengineering, following a Pre-Medical track.

Munafo has been a three sport varsity athlete during all four years at Saugus High School. In addition to playing sports, she works part time and volunteers at her church. Dorothy-Jean has been accepted to the University of Massachusetts, Amherst where she will major in Psychology.

When asked about the program, North Shore Bank President, Kevin Tierney said:

We are always so impressed by the quality of applicants, and these students were exceptional choices.”  He continued, “We look forward to the scholarship review process every year. It’s comforting to know, particularly with the cost of education today, that we can provide some direct assistance to hard-working and deserving students.

Award recipients are chosen by a committee of bank employees and are based on a combination of criteria, including academic achievement. This year’s committee was comprised of Carol Varone, Assistant Vice President and Training Coordinator, Julie Garland, Branch Manager in their Hamilton Street Branch, Tom Seyffert, Branch Manager of their Lincoln Avenue Branch, and Erin Riley, Branch Manager in the Lynn Fells Parkway Branch.